Spent the early morning ‘shelling’ on a beautiful   Sanibel Island beach.  As an amateur at shelling   I observed others painstakingly searching for the perfect or unique shell.   As I engaged    in conversation with other ‘shell searchers’  it became  apparent that they had a vast knowledge of shells….. their names, where and when to find particular shells  and bits and pieces of other ‘shelling’ information.  I was just looking for shells.

Today I found what I thought were some very nice shells although most were not perfect.  Many  were chipped or had entire pieces broken img_3445 from their original shapes.    Their  brokenness intrigued me and  I imagined the journey they must have taken riding the waves of the incoming tide to reach the shore.  But they made it.

I also felt  a  connection  to these   shells  as they reminded  me of  many people,  myself included,  who have  gotten a  bit battered and   broken  along life’s journey.  However, many of us  have also survived   and made  it to the shore’s safety.     ###

 

