Note:  The terms White and Black will be used in the following writing because that is the wording used by the Des Moines School District in their reporting.

Over the past few weeks I have read my book “I am NOT dumb and I am NOT a stinky butt!” to hundreds of children ages 5 to 9 in kindergarten, 1st and 2nd grade. Each reading was a new and different experience.  In  one school  the racial breakdown was 50% White, 30% Hispanic and 10% Black.  In another the breakdown was 68% Black, 15% Hispanic and 5% White. All were children having their first experiences in a  school setting. Some were talkative while others were rather  quiet and shy.

Hence my  question.  Shy and quiet kids: Should we change them? 

Please enter the discussion and leave some comments!  THANKS!    ###

