February 10, 2016

The week’s highlights!

  • READ “I am NOT dumb and I am NOT a stinky butt!” to 9 sections of students in kindergarten – 2nd grade.  THANKS to a grant from the Ronald McDonald Charities I was able to donate 77 books to students, teachers, counselors and librarians.  Was thankful  for ALL the counselors and teachers who greet these students DAILY with hugs, conversation and open acceptance!  Comments by students were:  “You are nicer than I thought you would be!” “My mother calls me a baby all the time and I just hate it!”  “Do you know who wrote that book you read?”  “On my bus it is the 5th graders and a 4th grader that are the bullies….and the bus driver doesn’t  know what is going on.” “Someone called me the “b” word.”

  • Met with my 76 year old adult student who is improving his reading [currently 2nd grade level] through the Drake Literacy Program.  I am so proud of him and his willingness to learn…he is doing a geat job of learning new words and decoding others!  And I love his determination to keep learning!!!

  • What I have learned this week!  I was reminded…..that when I give something of myself to others  it replaces the sadness that I  feel and  and helps to heal my broken heart!    ###

