Did it really take me 10 years to get my  book pubished?   After writing “I am NOT dumb and I am NOT a stinky butt!”  I had numerous opportunites to read  it to  classes at Clive Elementary School.    Encouraged by the positive reception from 1st graders I decided to reach out to publishing companies to determine which of them would want to publish my book.  A bit naive….you think?

After what I thought was sufficient research and planning I penned several letters to noted publishing houses providing them with the necessary information about my book.  Patiently I waited for what I thought would be their most certain positive responses.    Quickly I begin  to realize that these publishing houses were NOT as impressed with my book as I was.  In the following months  I received numerous kindly written rejection letters, the “dear johns of the writing world” and heard NOTHING from many others.  Slowly I came to the realization and acceptance that my book was probably not going to rise beyond its primitive “unpublished form.”  Reluctantly accepting the reality of my book’s unpromising future the book  was tossed into a drawer.   On occasion, when tidying up my work space,  I would read it again  and fantasize about the book’s future.                              ###

 

 

 

